Ode to Father Ocean, 1 (for Summer Solstice 2016)

In the quiet breath of midnight
I shall tiptoe softly
upon sand and rock and scrub
to stand at the edge of You
until the soft sighing of Your waves
match the cadence of my heartbeat.

In the bright sun of morning
I will gather reeds close to me
my hands, deft and clumsy both
shall work upon them long
and when they are proper braids and ropes
I shall offer them to Your depths.

On the day the sun stands still
while we celebrate summer and light and heat
I do not forget this is the beginning of Your time.
Every night You stretch longer, each day You squeeze tighter
drawing us closer ever to Your embrace in winter.
I will offer to you, I will pray: let it remain steady, a slow decline into icier times
Let it stay gentle and soft; do not plunge us in the deep end
without letting us get our feet wet.

And tho I offer to You and pray for Your gentleness
I do not reject Your harsher sides.
The storm, the tempest, the tsunami
the chilly ice water that freezes heart and bone
the depths that house nightmare creatures
and a graveyard for the foolish.

You are my Father, and You are all of these things
multicolored, shining like abalone in the sunlight.
I do not box You into good or bad or gentle or harsh
for You contain multitudes
and it is Your many colors that have taught me
the depth of my own emotions is not something to fear.

So I do not fear You, Father Ocean.
I raise my voice and hands in praise of You.

Praise be to the deep saltiness
from which life arises
and where it will go to end.

Praise be to the sandy shallows
where we might splash and play
and worship in joyfulness.

Praise be to the tidepools,
and the infinitely colorful
variety of the life therein.

Praise be to the water cycle,
to the rains and the mists
to the clouds that bring ocean water to our crops.

Praise be to Thee, Father Ocean
to the movements that shape rock and erode doubt
to the slow and gentle change
that is nonetheless more powerful
than any mortal can fathom.

Praise be to Thee, Father Ocean, Uncle Sea
Let us learn to love You well.

One thought on “Ode to Father Ocean, 1 (for Summer Solstice 2016)

Leave a Reply

